Key West – End of the Rainbow

Frank Neumann
Reiseberichte
Frank Neumann

Key West – End of the Rainbow

General Key West:

ParadeKey West or Conch Island as it is called by the locals with pleasure is the southernmost island of the Florida Keys and the southernmost point of the mainland of the USA. From Miami it is about 3 hours by car (250 km) via “US 1” to the island. The route over the Florida Keys is very impressive and picturesque. The island itself offers pure summer all year round. An average annual temperature of 28 degrees and the flair of the island also ensure this. Conspicuously casual and unconventional, the inhabitants present themselves to the tourists.

Tolerance is writ large and the laws of the USA are interpreted relatively generously. Homosexuals from all over the U.S. and the world see the island as a place of pilgrimage. Thus, the annual “Drag Queen Race” is one of the highlights in the calendar of events. Actually, there is always a party. Whether in the countless bars and pubs or on the street. The people in Key West always find a reason.

Curiosities:

Flag Key WestIn 1982, there was a U.S. Border Patrol checkpoint on Highway No. 1. This was established to identify illegal immigrants. Since Highway No. 1 (Overseas Highway) is the only connection from the mainland to Key West and many tourists come to Key West, there were traffic jams on the highway for hours. Soon thereafter, many tourists canceled your bookings because they did not want to face the aggravated arrival.

Key West, however, is dependent on these tourists and so the city government of Key West sued for omission of this control point. Since this complaint was rejected, Key West explained itself on 23.April 1982 as independent and called itself Conch Republic (Conch is English. for fencer snail). As if that were not enough, they declared war on the USA. 60 seconds later, however, they surrendered unconditionally. A goal was it the USA to move the island to give financial construction aid.

.

Hotel recommendations:

DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Grand Key

Hilton Key WestThe Double Tree Resort is a very good middle class hotel. With a small pool and nice rooms.
The hotel is relatively small by American standards and is located on the outskirts of Key West. This is also the mako of the hotel. To the historic Old Town or Down Town it is a very good walk.

To go downtown by car makes no sense in Key West. On the one hand, there are no free parking spaces, on the other hand, you would also have to do without the one or the other mojito.

The hotel offers a free shuttle service to the center. Unfortunately, the last shuttle goes back already 23 clock and there begins in Key West actually only the nightlife. So either you end the evening relatively early or you try to grab a cab. What is not so easy. Of course, you could also make yourself on foot on the way.
The room rates are between 120 and 170 euros excl. breakfast. Selbiges strikes again with 15 euro to book. But there are enough small Diners in the city.

.

Hilton Hotel Grand Key
3.5/5

3990 S Roosevelt Blvd
Key West, FL 33040
P: 305-293-1818
F: 305.933.6560
Website

Hilton Pool Key West

Casa Marina Key West Resort by Waldorf Astoria

Casa MarinaThe Casa Marina is rather a high-priced hotel of the Waldorf Astoria chain. Unfortunately, I can’t say much good about this hotel. The staff was very arrogant, the rooms for these prices small and musty.
As always, they tried to “force” us with one of the worst rooms to an upgrade which we also booked. Thus we had at least a balcony and saw the sea.The first room gave us a unique view of the waste containers and air conditioning units of the hotel.

The room prices are in no way justified. The location is indeed dreamlike, directly on the beach and relatively close to the Most Southern Point (ton), at the end of Duvalstreet. Ultimately, however, more was advertised and promised here with the brand than the hotel could hold.
The room rates start here at 250 euros.
This hotel I can not really recommend!

.

Casa Marina
4/5

1500 Reynolds St
Key West, FL 33040
P: 305-296-3535
Website

Casa Marina Pool

Southern Most Beach Resort

Southern most pointThe Southern Most Beach Resort surprised me very positively. It is a 3 part hotel complex. There are hotel rooms as well as a motel style part where you can drive your car right up to your room. The rooms were very high quality furnishings and the location even more exposed than that of the “Casa Marina”.

You live directly at the Southern Most Point (ton is about 50m away) directly in Duval Street, which is the main street of the island. The possibility of parking his car directly at the room also opens the possibility to spontaneously visit another island of the Keys. If one wants into the turmoil one falls quasi from the door directly into it.

But no fear nocturnal noise nuisances one does not need to fear. The room prices vary here also very much. Depending on the season. We have paid in September also proud 140 euros p.p./overnight. But of all 3 hotels I would take this again.

.

Southern Most
Beach Resort
3/5

1319 Duval St,
Key West, FL 33040
P: 305-296-6577
Website

Southern Most Beach Pool

Sightseeing:

Highway 1Of course, the first thing to mention is Southern Most Point. The famous buoy which is only 90 miles away from Cuba. If you don’t want to waste time you should visit it either early in the morning or in the evening. During the day there are rather long queues at the barrel.Barrel
Another sight of Key West is the “Fort Zachary” in the Historic State Park of the island. The fort was an important U.S. military base in the late 19th century. However, it was never involved in real combat operations.Today, the fort is open to visitors to the island.

Duval Street is the real heart of Key West. It crosses the island from the north to the south coast. In the Duval Street are countless bars and restaurants such as the “Sloopy Joe’s” in which Ernest Hemingway during his time on the island should have drunk probably one or the other Mojito.

Bad tongues speak even of the fact that his novels are to have originated exclusively under the influence of this drink. Furthermore, you can find “Rick’s Cafe” and the “Bull & Whistle”.

But the “Sloopy Joe’s” is not really good in terms of price-performance ratio. Since it is the most famous bar in Key West, you can almost talk about tourist pub. Here you are better off in the “Wild Hog”. Live music is played almost everywhere. As a recommendation for a delicious breakfast I would like to recommend the “Banana Cafe” at 1215 Duval Street. Fresh croissants, delicious coffee and everything else that the breakfast heart desires.

sundownAt the end of Duval Street you land on the “Mellory Square”. A square directly at the cruise port. Here locals and tourists celebrate the sunset every evening. This party on the Gulf of Mexico provides an impressive spectacle every evening when the sun sinks into the sea between Sunset Key and Wisteria Island.

We were able to inhabit this spectacle once from Mellory Square and once from the catamaran. Of course, it is seen from the boat even more beautiful to look at. The third time, unfortunately, a small hurricane made us a line through the bill. Fortunately, this only grazed the island.

Further:

Even President Truman chose Key West as his winter residence. So you can also find the “Little White House” in Front Street.
Another specialty of the Keys, which you should definitely try, is the “Key Lime Pie”. For the some surely something too sweet, there is however also a more tart variant of this local cake.

For super great beaches Key West is however less known. So who thinks here a few beautiful days on the beach to spend is rather ill advised. Although there is here and there a small public beach, such as behind the “Fort Zachary” and also most hotels, which are located directly on the sea have created a small sandy beach artificially. But for swimming you should really go to another island on the Keys. For example “Bahia Honda”

.

I hope I could give you a small impression of this beautiful island and move one or the other to visit the Keys themselves once. If you have any questions, just write to me at Contact or leave a comment under this blog.
You can also find a post about Miami. In the future, contributions to the following cities in Florida will follow:

  • Naples
  • Clearwater / Tamba
  • Orlando
  • Fort Lauderdale
  • Cape Canaveral – Kennedy Space Center

.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top

Key West – End of the Rainbow

Frank Neumann
Reiseberichte
Frank Neumann

Key West – End of the Rainbow

Allgemeines zu Key West:

ParadeKey West oder Conch Island wie es von den Einheimischen gern genannt wird ist die südlichste Insel der Florida Keys und der südlichste Punkt des Festlandes der USA. Von Miami sind es über die „US 1“ ca. 3 Autostunden (250 km) bis auf die Insel. Die Strecke über die Florida Keys ist dabei sehr beeindruckend und malerisch. Die Insel selber bietet das ganze Jahr über Sommer pur. Eine Jahresdurchschnittstemperatur von 28 Grad und das Flair der Insel sorgen ebenfalls dafür. Auffällig lässig und unkonventionell präsentieren sich die Einwohner den Touristen.

Toleranz wird großgeschrieben und die Gesetze der USA relativ großzügig ausgelegt. Homosexuelle aus der ganzen USA und aus der ganzen Welt sehen die Insel als Pilgerort. So ist auch das jährliche „Drag Queen Race“ eines der Highlights im Veranstaltungskalenders. Gefeiert wird eigentlich immer. Egal ob in den zahllosen Bars und Kneipen oder auf der Straße. Einen Grund finden die Menschen in Key West immer.

Kurioses:

Flagge Key WestIm Jahr 1982 gab es auf dem Highway Nr. 1 eine Kontrollstelle der amerikanischen Grenzkontrollbehörde. Diese wurde eingerichtet um illegale Einwanderer zu identifizieren. Da der Highway Nr. 1 (Overseas Highway) die einzige Verbindung vom Festland nach Key West ist und viele Touristen nach Key West kommen, gab es stundenlange Staus auf dem Highway. Bald darauf stornierten viele Touristen Ihre Buchungen da sie sich die erschwerte Anreise nicht antun wollten.

Key West ist aber auf diese Touristen angewiesen und so klagte die Stadtverwaltung von Key West auf Wegfall dieser Kontrollstelle. Da diese Klage abgewiesen wurde, erklärte Key West am 23.April 1982 sich als unabhängig und nannte sich Conch Republic (Conch ist engl. für Fechterschnecke). Damit nicht genug erklärte man den USA den Krieg. 60 Sekunden später jedoch kapitulierte man bedingungslos. Ziel war es die USA dazu zu bewegen der Insel finanzielle Aufbauhilfe zu geben.

Hotelempfehlungen:

DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Grand Key

HiltonDas Double Tree Resort ist ein sehr gutes Mittelklasse Hotel. Mit kleinem Pool und schönen Zimmern.
Das Hotel ist nach amerikanischen Verhältnissen relativ klein und liegt am äußersten Rand von Key West. Dies ist auch das Mako des Hotels. Bis zur historischen Altstadt bzw. Down Town ist es ein sehr gutes Stück zu Fuß.

Mit dem Auto in die Innenstadt zu fahren macht in Key West keinen Sinn. Zum einen gibt es keine freien Parkplätze, zum anderen müsste man auch auf den ein oder anderen Mojito verzichten.

Das Hotel bietet einen kostenlosen Shuttleservice ins Zentrum an. Leider geht das letzte Shuttle zurück bereits 23 Uhr und da beginnt in Key West eigentlich erst das Nachtleben. Also entweder man beendet den Abend relativ früh oder man versucht ein Taxi zu ergattern. Was nicht ganz einfach ist. Natürlich könnte man auch zu Fuß sich auf den Weg machen.
Die Zimmerpreise liegen zwischen 120 und 170 Euro exkl. Frühstück. Selbiges schlägt noch einmal mit 15 Euro zu Buche. Aber es gibt genug kleine Diners in der Stadt.

Hilton Hotel Grand Key
3.5/5

3990 S Roosevelt Blvd
Key West, FL 33040
P: 305-293-1818
F: 305.933.6560
Webseite

hilton Pool

Casa Marina Key West Resort by Waldorf Astoria

Casa MarinaDas Casa Marina ist eher ein hochpreisiges Hotel der Waldorf Astoria Kette. Leider kann ich über dieses Hotel nicht viel Gutes erzählen. Das Personal war sehr überheblich, die Zimmer für diese Preise klein und muffig.
Wie immer versuchte man uns mit einem der schlechtesten Zimmer zu einem Upgrade zu „nötigen“ welches wir auch buchten. Somit hatten wir wenigstens einen Balkon und sahen das Meer.Das erste Zimmer bescherte uns einen einzigartigen Ausblick auf die Abfallcontainer und Klima-Aggregate des Hotels.

Die Zimmerpreise sind in keiner Weise gerechtfertigt. Die Lage ist zwar traumhaft, direkt am Strand und relativ nah am Most Southern Point (Tonne), am Ende der Duvalstreet. Letztendlich wurde hier aber mit der Marke mehr geworben und versprochen als das Hotel halten konnte.
Die Zimmerpreise beginnen hier bei 250 Euro.
Dieses Hotel kann ich nicht wirklich empfehlen!

Casa Marina
4/5

1500 Reynolds St
Key West, FL 33040
P: 305-296-3535
Webseite

Casa Marina Pool

Southern Most Beach Resort

Southern Most PointDas Southern Most Beach Resort hat mich sehr positive überrascht. Es ist eine 3 teilige Hotelanlage. Es gibt sowohl Hotelzimmer, als auch einen Teil im Motel Style in welchem man mit seinem Auto direkt bis vor das Zimmer fahren kann. Die Zimmer waren sehr hochwertig eingerichtet und die Lage noch exponierter als die des „Casa Marina“.

Man wohnt direkt am Southern Most Point (Tonne ist ca. 50m entfernt) direkt in der Duval Street, welche die Hauptstraße der Insel ist. Die Möglichkeit sein Auto direkt am Zimmer zu parken eröffnet einem auch die Möglichkeit spontan eine andere Insel der Keys zu besuchen. Will man ins Getümmel fällt man quasi aus der Tür direkt hinein.

Aber keine Angst nächtliche Lärmbelästigungen braucht man nicht zu fürchten. Die Zimmerpreise variieren hier auch sehr stark. Je nach Jahreszeit. Wir haben im September auch stolze 140 Euro p.P. /Übernachtung gezahlt. Aber von allen 3 Hotels würde ich diese wieder nehmen.

Southern Most
Beach Resort
3/5

1319 Duval St,
Key West, FL 33040
P: 305-296-6577
Webseite

Southern Most Point Pool

Sehenswürdigkeiten:

Highway 1Natürlich sollte man als erstes den Southern Most Point erwähnen. Die berühmte Tonne welche nur 90 Meilen von Kuba entfernt steht. Will man nicht unnötig Zeit vergeuden sollte man hier entweder ganz früh oder lieber am Abend vorbeischauen. Tagsüber bilden sich doch eher lange Schlangen an der Tonne.Tonne
Eine weitere Sehenswürdigkeit von Key West ist das „Fort Zachary“ im Historic State Park der Insel. Das Fort war ein wichtiger US-Militärstützpunkt im späten 19. Jahrhundert. Es war allerdings niemals in wirkliche Kampfhandlungen verwickelt. heute ist das Fort für die Besucher der Insel geöffnet.

Die Duval Street ist das eigentliche Herz von Key West. Sie durchquert die Insel von der Nord- bis zur Südküste. In der Duval Street befinden sich unzählige Bars und Restaurants wie zum Beispiel das „Sloopy Joe’s“ in welchem Ernest Hemingway während seiner Zeit auf der Insel wohl den ein oder anderen Mojito getrunken haben soll.

Böse Zungen sprechen sogar davon, dass seine Romane ausschließlich unter Einfluss dieses Getränkes entstanden sein sollen. Weiterhin findet man hier „Ricks Cafe“ und das „Bull & Whistle“.

Das „Sloopy Joe’s“ ist aber nicht wirklich gut was das Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis angeht. Da es die bekanntest Bar in Key West ist, kann man fast von Touri-Kneipe sprechen. Hier ist man im „Wild Hog“ besser aufgehoben. Live Musik wird fast überall gespielt. Als Empfehlung für ein leckeres Frühstück möchte ich Euch das „Banana Cafe„in der Duval Street 1215 ans Herz legen. Frische Croissants, leckerer Kaffee und sonst alles was das Frühstücksherz begehrt.

SundownAm Ende der Duval Street landet man auf dem „Mellory Square“. Einem Platz direkt am Kreuzfahrthafen. Hier feiern Einheimische und Touristen jeden Abend den Sonnenuntergang. Diese Party am Golf von Mexiko liefert allabendlich ein beeindruckendes Schauspiel, wenn die Sonne zwischen Sunset Key und Wisteria Island im Meer versinkt.

Wir haben diesem Spektakel einmal von Mellory Square aus und einmal vom Katamaran aus bewohnen können. Natürlich ist es vom Boot aus gesehen noch viel schöner anzusehen. Beim dritten Mal machte uns leider ein kleiner Hurrikan einen Strich durch die Rechnung. Zum Glück streifte dieser nur die Insel.

Weiteres:

Selbst Präsident Truman wählte Key West als seine Winterresidenz. So findet sich auch das „Little White House“ in der Front Street.
Eine weitere Spezialität der Keys, welche man unbedingt versuchen sollte, ist der „Key Lime Pie„. Für den manchen sicher etwas zu süß, gibt es aber auch eine herbere Variante dieses lokalen Kuchens.

Für super tolle Strände ist Key West allerdings weniger bekannt. Wer also denkt hier ein paar schöne tage am Strand verbringen zu können ist eher schlecht beraten. Zwar findet sich hier und da ein kleiner öffentlicher Strand, wie z.B. hinter dem „Fort Zachary“ und auch die meisten Hotels, welche direkt am Meer liegen haben einen kleinen Sandstrand künstlich geschaffen. Zum Baden sollte man aber wirklich auf eine andere Insel auf den Keys fahren. Zum Beispiel „Bahia Honda“

Ich hoffe ich konnte Euch einen kleinen Eindruck dieser wunderschönen Insel vermitteln und den ein oder anderen dazu bewegen, selbst einmal die Keys zu besuchen. Solltet Ihr noch Fragen haben schreibt einfach unter Kontakt an mich bzw. lasst einen Kommentar unter diesem Blog.
Ihr findet hier auch Einen Beitrag über Miami. In Zukunft werden noch Beiträge zu folgenden Städten in Florida folgen:

Kommentar verfassen

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.

Scroll to Top